more from
Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa

A Quiet Divide

by Rhian Sheehan

supported by
Steve Mahoney
Steve Mahoney thumbnail
Steve Mahoney Rhian Sheehan Quiet Divide is simply stunning. Another superb release from Rhian Sheehan.The cd and album package design are epic. I rate this album release 10 out of 10.
Whisdoms End
Whisdoms End thumbnail
Whisdoms End A Quiet Divide is something between Neo Classic and Ambient music.
It listens like some sort of story told with quiet, harmonic and peacefull harmonies.

Always nice to find another Kiwi project! Favorite track: Soma Dreams.
Rebecca Bilyeu
Rebecca Bilyeu thumbnail
Rebecca Bilyeu This album tells a story. Emotion evoking. Very beautifully crafted. Favorite track: The Absence of You.
Whyte Rushan
Whyte Rushan thumbnail
Whyte Rushan The, last time i heard you live, was, in a tin shed, on mcleans island at the steam museum, there were people with ear muffs oiling the machines, it was a christmas party, and we got the bus home to the square, and gasoline cowboy sang as well, in the tin shed...see you in Q, all this time later, mmm it arrived the CD, Track 9 or something, saw this live at Q Theatre, it was next level Favorite track: Last Time We Spoke.
albertoatx thumbnail
albertoatx This album it is pure magic and a travel of emotions. It is an outstanding musical experience and if you are a fan of artists such as Olafur Arnalds or Max Richter, then I'm pretty sure you will love this journey. To me this is the album of the year and a work of art! Favorite track: We Danced Under a Broken Sky.
Micky68 thumbnail
Micky68 Rhian Sheehan creates one of the most beautiful musical landscapes. So soft and emotional. incredible. The whole new Album is really magic. Unfortunately I cannot watch the concerts in New Zealand .. Hopefully more People from Europe will listen to his great Music. Thanks Rhian
  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Includes 180-gram high-quality 14-track white double LP. Contains 3 alternate album covers, and bonus track "Keepsake" + Digital Download.

    Includes unlimited streaming of A Quiet Divide via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $50 NZD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $15 NZD  or more


  • Limited Edition Compact Disc
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Contains 3 alternate album covers. Artwork from Jaime Robertson.

    Includes unlimited streaming of A Quiet Divide via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out



Five years since the release of his previous studio album, Rhian Sheehan returns with A Quiet Divide. Acclaimed for both his music and his composition, Sheehan’s latest piece of work is a sublime marriage of orchestral chamber music with textural cinematic guitar and synth soundscapes.

A Quiet Divide sees his most cinematic piece of work to date, merging his experience crafting cinematic scores with the post-rock sound listeners have come to expect.


released October 5, 2018

Produced, recorded & engineered by Rhian Sheehan.
Co-produced by Raashi Malik.
Soma Dreams co-produced by Jol Mulholland.
Toward The Sun co-produced by Levi Patel.

Recorded at DeepSpace Studio & The Surgery Recording Studio Wellington, Roundhead Studios & The Lab Recording Studio, Auckland.

All music written by R. Sheehan, except:
Soma Dreams, written by R.Sheehan & R. Malik.
Toward The Sun, written, produced and recorded by R. Sheehan & L. Patel.

Pianos recorded & engineered by Paddy Hill at Roundhead Studios, Auckland. Additional piano recorded & engineered by Mike Gibson at Massey School of Music, Wellington. Drums & crotales recorded & engineered by Lee Prebble at The Surgery Recording Studio, Wellington. Strings recorded & engineered at Stella Maris Chapel by John Neill with music editing by Tane Upjohn-Beatson. Piano, vocals, & additional guitar on Toward The Sun recorded & engineered by Levi Patel. French Horns recorded & engineered by Jacob E Rush at Studio509, Auckland. Drums, bass & percussion on So-ma Dreams recorded & engineered by Jol Mulholland.

Rhian Sheehan: Guitars, Bass, Piano, Keys, Synths, Percussion, Textures, Field recordings, Metallophone, Musicboxes, Glockenspiels, Celesta & Baritone Ukulele.
Raashi Malik: Piano (4,5,6,10,12)
Justin Bird: Piano (2,3)
Jeff Boyle: Guitar (5,6,13)
Arli Liberman: Guitar (1,5,7,12)
Ryan Prebble: Guitar (5,6), Bass (6)
Steve Bremner: Drums (6), Crotales (6,12)
Jol Mulholland: Drums (4), Bass (4), Shaker (4), Lap Steel (4), Voice (4)
Ed Zuccollo: Mini Moog bass (2,3)
Anna Edgington: Voice (5,6)
Levi Patel: Guitar (7), Piano (7), Voice (7)
Gala Morris: Voice (7)

Strings: Performed by Stroma FilmWorks & conducted by Hamish McKeich. French Horns: Emma Eden & David Kay.
String arrangements by Ryan Youens & Rhian Sheehan. Raashi Malik co-arranger on April. Levi Patel & Jeremy Reid co-arrangers on Toward The Sun. Strings orchestrated by Ryan Youens. Horns & Strings on Toward The Sun orchestrated by Jeremy Reid.

Album mixed by Rhian Sheehan & Mike Gibson at Munki Studios & Park Road Post, Miramar, Wellington.

Mastered by Mike Gibson.

Photography by Ian Robertson.
Design by Jaime Robertson.


all rights reserved


Rhian Sheehan recommends:

If you like Rhian Sheehan, you may also like: